The Wish-Bringer

Author: Geraldine McCaughrean
Illustrator: Jana Diemberger

Age: 8-10
RRP: £7.99
ISBN: 9781907912061
Publication Date: 27-09-2012
Format: Pb, 206mm x 150mm
Extent: 56 pages

The Little Monk returns...

There are parts of the world where people think Bad Luck comes up from below, and Good Luck comes down from the sky. Not in Naples. In Naples bad luck and good came from just one place: Monacello.

In the second instalment of the Monacello trilogy, the ‘Little Monk’ who brings both good and bad luck is begrudgingly transformed into the Wish-Bringer. Encouraged by his mysterious friend Napolina, only when she isn’t looking too closely does he return to mischief-making.

There is one wish, however, that Monacello cannot grant; he still does not know the rest of his story; the mystery of his parents and why he came to be left outside the doors of a nunnery one cold morning. In The Wish-Bringer, once again beautifully illustrated with Jana Diemberger’s stunning artwork, Monacello faces up to his enemies and comes one step closer to discovering the truth about his past. When it comes to the Little Monk though, bad luck can never be far away, and soon Monacello is called upon to grant the hardest wish of all...

The Author says....

I visited a friend in Naples, and she showed me the city’s best secret – its Undercity: a gloomy, buried world of ruined houses and streets. Then I found out Naples has a secret inhabitant too – part-good, part-bad; a bringer of good luck and trouble; a boy with a sad history of his own. Legends like Monacello’s date from a time when stories were not just for children; when they hovered in everyone’s brain, somewhere between made-up and true.    

I never cared much for wicked villains or superheroes. Monacello is a mixture of sun and shadow – like we all are. My sort of hero.

Geraldine McCaughrean has written over 150 books for children and best-selling titles Peter Pan in Scarlet, the only official sequel to Peter Pan, published in 2006; The Death Defying Pepper Roux (2009); and White Darkness (2008). She has won every major children's book prize: the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize in 1989 for A Pack of Lies, and she is the only author to have won the Whitbread Award three times.

Book Reviews

Order this book:


Or, you could buy the book from your local, independent bookshop. We love independent bookshops and always try to support them wherever possible. For a handy list of independent bookshops in the UK, click here. Some of the bookshops on this list have online stores, too.